Review of “The Elusive Miss Ellison” (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace #1) by Carolyn Miller

Miller, Carolyn, The Elusive Miss Ellison. Grand Raprompids, MI: Kregel Publications, 2017. ISBN-13: 978-0-8254-4450-0. $14,99 USD. 

4.5 stars

The Elusive Miss Ellison is a sweet first romance in the tradition of Austen and Heyer. And while Miller does make some allusions to both authors in her basic plot and characterization, there are other ways in which she develops the story to make it stand out in an incredibly popular genre.

Lavinia and Nicholas are both complex, sympathetic characters. And while the story begins with a tragedy in their past that has led to animosity between them, fueled by their differences in station and ideals, you get a sense that they develop an understanding of each other as the story progresses prior to romance even being a consideration, as they both begin to change and develop a greater understanding of each other.

While Miller is a bit inconsistent with some of the intricacies of the aristocratic world (such as forms of address and courtesy titles), she does manage to surprise even a  seasoned Regency reader like myself with a few unexpected historical tidbits.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves a great, sweet Regency romance.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s