Review of”When the Marquess Met His Match” (An American Heiress in London #1) by Laura Lee Guhrke

Guhrke, Laura Lee. When the Marquess Met His Match. New York: Avon Books, 2013. ISBN-13: 978-0-06-311817-2. Print List Price: $7.99.

4.5 stars

I first picked this up and read this when it came out, per Julia Quinn’s recommendation, and while I loved it, for some reason, I didn’t read any of the further installments in the series. As I finally made plans to read them, and book 4 won a RITA award (a factor which only amplified my desire to get my hands on this series), I decided to give this book a reread to refresh myself.

And this book is just as great as I remembered, if a bit cliche now, what with there being many historical romances with plots revolving around rakish men with “daddy issues,” or widows who lived through a first marriage to a horrible man who only wanted her for her fortune. But what I enjoyed was how Guhrke expands on these archetypes to make them into people. In Nicholas, we see someone who wants a purpose, but is kept from it, due to the fact that everything he wants are things that go against what is considered proper behavior for a peer. And Belinda has become a career woman through matchmaking, with the mindset of guiding these women away from men like her late husband.

 

Leave a Reply

